Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:03 PM - Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2004
Where it all begins...
Davy: You're right. I haven't been writing enough lately. Maybe this will help me be in better spirits? It's worth a try, at least. Thank you, bello. Io ti amo!

Where to begin? Well, let's see... Today started out okay. I ended up arriving at work a bit late, as usual. Thank you, Casey! I felt apprehension and agression in the pit of my stomach in the early bit of the morning. Turns out Greg & Diane (from this point forward known as D&G) set up an extra computer in the middle of the work table in the Geology room. Of course, the computer is smack dab in the way of Erin and I's work with the geological files thus making it difficult for us to have efficient work space. That's not what pisses me off, though. What pisses me off is the fact that they lied about there not being an extra computer lying around - one for Erin's dad to use. The company promised him a computer back in June. Here it is January and what does he have to show for it? Nothing. The monitor was in his office yesterday minus a hard drive and the hookup cables to the system. This morning it's in Erin and I's workspace with a hard drive and cables. Pathetic of me to get upset over something so callous, but these difficult people are really starting to annoy the hell out of me. If I were mental enough to go postal on them, I would. Fortunately for them, I'm not.

About 11 AM, D. disappears from the office. The only person who knows where she's run off to is G. He doesn't tell the rest of us - especially those of us who have to answer the phone, transfer her calls, and sound like idiots to the people who phone in when we have to tell them she's disappeared on us. And to top that off, half of these people were in a bitchy mood and taking their aggression towards D. out on me. Luckily my father saved my mood. Just when I thought I was going to keel over from hunger pains or start blasting people at random with staples, he asks Brad, Mark and I to lunch. We went to an old Mexican restaurant named Connie's on Broadway. It's been there for over 30 years. The food was greasey and settled in my stomach like two fists punching my gut. I ended up only having 2 tacos, but then I couldn't make up my mind about what I wanted to eat. After lunch was over, my dad was driving us all around the older part of Wichita telling us a bit about the companies along Broadway and their history. It was rather informative, but I couldn't tell you what he said about them. I was dazing off while he talked. I seem to be doing that a lot lately... dazing off. I can't even tell you what I dazed off about.

Once we made it back to the office, the weather outside had gone from 20 degrees to about 50. I was in a wool sweater so I was sweating up a storm. I did get a lot done today, which made me feel better. I've been behind lately. Between all my doctor appointments and moving into my new house, I've been very overwhelmed. Sometimes I feel so frazzled that my head starts to pound like crazy, and all I want to do is bury my face in the sand like an ostrich would. I know that if I wasn't in charge of answering the phones, I wouldn't be behind at all. I don't mind answering the phones. Sometimes it's fun talking to the people who call in. But it's those moments when I am trying to get my work done, and I get extremely involved into what I am doing, that it stresses me out. It interrupts me so much sometimes that all I want to do is grab the phone and hurl it across the room. There will be moments when I take a call and the person on the other end starts talking for about five minutes straight, and the other six lines are lighting up.. and nobody else will answer the freaking thing! So it's ringing in my ear distracting me while I'm trying to listen to the person on the line, all while I'm having to set my stuff aside to take these seven phone calls and possibly hunt down the person the call goes to..... I'll end it there. Let's just say that sometimes too much is going on at once all around me and its bound to make me start whopping people with flying rubber bands.

About 2 PM I called the painter and left a message on his cell phone to call me about painting my front door. I still haven't heard a word from him.

Well.. As I was ending the day at work, I was burning up from the heat, my head was pounding immensely, and I was running behind on taking the deposits to the bank and dropping off the mail. Carrie called me on my cell phone and invited me to see the premiere of "Win a Date with Tad Hamilton." I decided to go. After all, I haven't gone out in a long time, and I need to start being more social with people. I quickly hurried out of the office, dropped the mail in the drop box, and made the deposits at one of the banks. I met Carrie and a friend of hers named Danielle at Dairy Queen for dinner. We went to the movie, and I have to say that it was cute. It definitely relaxed me and put me in a good mood. Of course, it also was cute enough to make me wish I had a special guy to go to the movies with more often. I need to seriously look into some dating service or something. I'll think about this one...

Seriously.

As for the rest of the night? I talked to Lee for a bit on the phone, got a message from "Bob" on the answering machine that was DIRTY... and settled down into doing this. Now I'm going to go read my DaVinci Code book. I think that's enough for now.

How'd you like that?

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!