Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:29 AM - Monday, Aug. 01, 2005
Whatever
I don't want to be here. I want to go home and curl up in my bed. If it wasn't my dad's last day before he goes on vacation... if certain people in the office weren't absent today... if I didn't need the money... I would have called in sick.


The only person to call me this weekend besides family members was Casey. Of course, he called my cell phone and that was turned off so I really only spoke to my family members.

My sister Jenny, her husband Jeff and I went to see War of the Worlds. It was pretty good... except there were some things that Steven Spielberg missed. At the very beginning when everything is fried from the lightening storms and nothing works... a man is able to operate his digital camera (even though everything else battery operated was dead). Not only that, but Tom Cruise comes home from the "ash" experience and is able to turn on his water and cleanse himself. Then, later on in the movie, you have them riding in a car to get away from the city. The car never has to stop for gas. It never runs out of gas. And yet it makes it clear out of state on one tank (and it's an OLD mini van). The traffic on the highway is perfectly lined up for Tom and crew to make it through the streets to escape the invasion. When they reach the mother's house... everything gets destroyed. Planes even fall out of the air. BUT - the mini van is left in perfect condition for them to continue their escape. When they come to a restaurant, everyone is running off in fear (bur there's a waitress who continues to work in the restaurant in the background with no fear). And when the son leaves to fight the aliens and everything on the side of the hill where the son ran off too is blown up, the guy still lives and makes it to Boston (where nothing is destroyed)... And the mother, step-father and grandparents come out of the grandparent's house as if nothing really happened... and they are the only family to open up their front door and look for family members on the street. The rest of the place is completely empty. Other than these factors, I guess it was a pretty good movie. Okay.. it sucked. Except for Dakota Fanning. Dakota Fanning SAVED the movie for me.

If film critics don't catch these things, I'm going to lose faith in all film critics.... FOREVER.


It's 11:00 AM now... and I'm still just wasting time waiting for the Monday mail to arrive.. I can hear the people out in the work area joking with each other and conversing. Sometimes they joke about the most disgusting things, and I feel bad that I can't enjoy their sick humor. Perhaps I'm just too serious of a person. I don't know.

Anyhow, I better end this here. I'm not really saying much, and I'm tired of looking at a computer screen.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!