Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:07 PM - Sunday, Oct. 09, 2005
It's all about the image.
I have this idea of myself. Well, it's more of an image that I have of myself mentally. I often see myself as the woman in class who wears the most expensive and nicest clothes while sipping on a coffee. I don't know what it is about a cup of coffee, but it's almost as if I apply the drink to the vision of maturity.

The reality is... I hate coffee. You'll never catch me drinking the stuff. And while I may wear nice clothes, they aren't the most expensive... and they definitely don't apply towards the image I have of myself.

Sometimes I wish I could move to another place completely separate from this one just so I could transform myself into that person. I could never become that person here. Most of the people I'm surrounded by on an everday basis already have preconceptions of me. I think I'll always be a woman-child here, one who wears t-shirts, shorts, and Keds to work instead of nice work clothes. One who never wears make-up, or gussies herself all up to flatter the boys...

It used to be all about comfort (and part of me will always be all about the comfort), but there's a part of me aching to shop at places that I can't afford and wear the clothes that are made for stick figure bodies. Should I blame advertisement here? Maybe they're sending subliminal messages through their ad campaigns telling me I'm supposed to be a size zero so I can fit into their clothing line?

On a side note.. is it just me or is clothing getting more expensive the less fabric there is? I find it ironic that they would use less fabric but make these articles of clothing cost a heck of a lot more. I'll blame the globalization of the economy on that one.

I guess none of this really matters. I mean, tomorrow I may imagine myself as something entirely different. I guess we'll just wait and see.

**hopefully I'll find time to fix my older entries page this week. It's driving me nuts that it's not working properly!***

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!