Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:08 PM - Sunday, Dec. 18, 2005
with bruises on her ego....
Brrr. It's a bit cold outside. We finally got some real snow this winter. I took my grandma to Target to buy some air filters and groceries because I don't want her driving out in this stuff. It's not bad, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. I keep imagining her falling and slipping on a slick spot. Better to have me slip and fall than her, I say.

I miss my friends. It seems odd that we're all separated now by cities and states. Chris, Jen F. and Rachel are living up near KC, Trish is in Lawrence, Jen H. moved to Wyoming with her husband, Carrie S. is in Iowa, Robbie and Megan both live in Omaha, Diane's down in Liberal... even my brother moved far away. Carrie F. lives here but we never see each other except randomly throughout the year. She's too caught up in her church group and religion. You would think I'd have more friends now that I've been living here for three years, but I don't. I blame it on where I work. I know. I know. I should just get a new job, but it's hard to do so when you're obligated by family members to work for the family owned business. And then the workers there all hate me because I'm the boss's daughter... but then I don't really want to befriend the majority of them anyhow because they're either racist, sexist, or all three combined. And they're all over half my age, too. There's only two people I care to know and that's M.P. and B.G.. But even though we're work friends, it doesn't mean we're friends beyond the work place.

I tried finding other people to know by joining that OkCupid place.. and I thought perhaps My Space would work out advantageously too.. but I don't know. It seems if you don't have a picture up people don't really want to get to know you. I think that's what I loved about going back to school. I made some really nice acquintances. I can't really call them friends because we never did anything beyond school... but that's how it is in school. You have a network of people you know for the moment.

And then there's my neighborhood. Bless my neighbors, but I'm like the only young person within a mile radius. They're all grandparents, or in their 40s to 50s. And while I don't mind knowing people like that and befriending them... I need young people my age to hang out with and go do things with. Maybe I need to transfer to a college out of state, sell the house, and move my cats and I clear across the country like my brother did... and start completely over in a city full of young people.

Wishful dreaming... I know. I know.

Now I'm bored. Comet escaped into the garage but I'm not about to chase her around the cars to get her inside, and I'm being extremely lazy when it comes to cleaning out my closet and rehanging my clothes. Eventually I'll get around to it because I'll be so sick of the mess. If I could, I'd throw everything into a big pile and start over. And I don't mean just my clothes... but everything. Even the stuff I have inside my linen closets, my medicine cabinet.. the wole bit. I almost don't want anything for Christmas because I'm afraid the stuff will be added onto the great big pile of crap I already own.

You know what I need? I need to hire professionals to come in and simplify my life. Wouldn't that be nice?

Here I go... rambling on about things that aren't important. Haley's come into the room. I think she's looking for Comet. Maybe I need to go put on my clothes and chase that indoor cat back inside. Perhaps that would cure some of this boredom I'm experiencing.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!