Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:14 PM - Friday, Sept. 24, 2004
Glasses, blisters, & extreme frustration
I picked up my new glasses today. They are so cool. They are cranberry red, and they fit my face so much better than my old pair. I love them.

Anyhow, I went golfing yesterday. I ended up with a blister on my left thumb, and two blisters on my right hand. My dad's good friend Randy told me I grip the clubs too tight. I think I used to do the same thing in softball, but maybe in softball you're supposed to grip the bat tight. I can't remember for the life of me. After it became intolerable to golf with these blisters, I ended up driving the cart. Woohoo! So much fun. And I have a new nickname. Instead of being called "Co", I'm now called "Caddie." Some of the things I need to work on are: 1. keeping my eye on the ball and not lifting my head up, 2. working on not being afraid at mutulating the grass, and 3. my grip. My dad's going to lend me some woofle balls and some clubs so I can go out in my backyard and practice.

My mom took me to lunch today. During our lunch conversation, I asked her if dad had given her the list of things I wanted for my birthday. She says, "Jessica, you're 26 years old. Normally I give Jenny, Jeff, Angie and Brian $100 and call it good." I said in response, "Yes, but they're old. They're like... 30 or practically 30." And she said, "So are you." And I said, "Don't remind me! Plus, this way... I get $300 worth of stuff instead of some cash." She just laughed and said, "I'm not going to buy you toys." And I said, "when are you going to realize that maybe I like to play computer and video games. Many adults do." And she said, "I just worry about you. You don't go out enough. Who are your friends?" So I named off my friends... a short list, but still an existing list... And she said, "Yes, but half of them live out of town. You spend too much time alone." And I said, "Did you ever consider that maybe I prefer it that way?" And she said, "How are you going to meet somebody if you don't go out?" And I thought to myself, "Holy shit, here we go again." So my response was, "If it's meant to happen, it will happen... whether I spend most of my time at home alone or the majority of my time getting drunk and acting like a moron with a bunch of people who'll probably just use me for a free ride or some money... or spending every weekend listening to holier than thou Christian gurus talk to me about how blasphemous it is to drink, have premarital sex, and say a few choice cuss words. People like me survive with or without a lot of people in our lives. I'll be okay. And I don't need a man. I'm not ready to get married anyway. And if I'm never ready, then so be it." And she said, "But what about a friend?" And I said, "I already told you... I have my friends." By this time, the conversation went in a different direction.

Ahhhhhhhh!!!!!!

I am so glad it's Friday. Except, I'll be coming into work tomorrow after I go work out with Jenny at the Y. I have to get Saturday's mail, and do some of the stuff I can't concentrate on when the phones are ringing off the hook. I'll probably get in here about 1 and stick around till about 4. At least I'll be making some money instead of wasting time just sitting around.

I'm ready to go home now. I like my home. I like not being bothered. I like doing my crossword puzzles, my computer games, and that kind of stuff while watching shows like CSI Miami, Law & Order, Cold Case Files, and all those kind of shows.

Brian just invited me to have dinner with him, Angie and the kids at their house. You see, I do have friends. Just most of them exist in my family. I don't see anything wrong with that.

Short entry, I know... but it's 4:30 and I want out of here if I'm coming back tomorrow.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!