Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:33 PM - Sunday, Apr. 09, 2006
You take the good... You take the bad...
I've got some good news and I've got some bad news. I'll start with the good news.

The good news:

Some of you already know my good news, but I'm going to post it up here for those of you who don't. At this moment in time, I am definitely making two A's. One in Domestic Violence and one in Research Methods. As for stats? Well, that's either a B or a C... which I think is pretty good for me seeing that I've never been wonderful at things like that. Plus, I hear the majority of the people who take this class have to take it twice because they flunk it the first time.

But that's not the most important news I have that's good. On Thursday morning, my Research Methods teacher was calling students down to go over their research projects. I sit towards the front with K. and S., and we can hear what the teacher says to all of the students. She was telling our classmates how to improve their projects and what she expected from them. When she called me down, I was expecting the same thing. I was flabbergasted when she looked at me and said, "This is really good. I think you have a talent for this. You should consider going into Research Methods as a career." I must have given her a dumb look because she then said, "No, I'm serious!" When I told my mom about how the night before I was feeling a bit lost and then this happened, she told me that it must be a sign from God, and that he sends signs in the strangest of ways. I had to agree with her. After all, I was seriously considering giving up - but maybe instead of working with victims of violent crimes on how to improve their lives, I should be researching the statistics and the reasons why things like this happen.

I know this is odd, and I don't mean to sound like I'm on an ego trip here, but I really think that God put me through all types of bad and good experiences because he has a plan for me. Deep down, I've always thought that plan was to 1. experience all I can so I can say that I've walked in somebody elses shoes, 2. get better and find my footing on solid ground so I could show others that it can be done, and 3. share my experiences with those like me who don't feel strong enough or see a light at the end of the tunnel. And I really really really feel that I should write a book about it. Why else would God have granted me with the gift to write, and the ability to relate to and communicate effectively with 90% of the people I meet?


Now for the bad news:

It's really not terrible news, but it's something I need to get off my chest. It involves work, of course. I really need to release some of this frustration that's been building up inside of me for the last three months. It involves the new system at work. I know I've been complaining about it often enough, but this last week has really pushed my patience.

In the beginning, I had to take all of the totals that were still left due as of 12/31/05 and enter them into the new system. The main problems I experienced with this is that some companies changed their company name, some working interest partners became companies instead of individuals, and some of the working interest partners changed over to trust funds. Did anybody inform me of these changes or warn me to look for these changes? NO.

I've complained often enough that the entity I.D.'s don't come in alphabetical order. Well, now they're worse. Instead of coming out under a mix of their last name, they now consist of three letters and three numbers. Not only that, but they are still out of order. And not only that, but instead of being able to just clear the new people, there are more steps involved than with the old system. I have to input their data and check information more than twice when I should only have to enter it once. That's my opinion, anyhow.

Well, after all of that, M.S. had me go in and clear everybody that paid for their Dec. JIB after January 1st. I did so. Then he had me wait until February was ready. Did that with his help and his son's. Now that they've helped me clear them, we have had more problems than I care to admit so I went through March's payments and marked specifically who paid for what and what their codes were so that they wouldn't mess up putting in March's entries like they did with February's.

Somehow, we still have problems. The old system isn't matching with the way the new system does things. M.S. never cleared the credits he said he was going to clear from Dec. and Jan. because we later found out we have to manually clear them out... and not only that, but it's rounding up a penny so people are thinking they didn't pay enough last time and are calling in complaining their asses off to me. So basically, people are using the credits they don't deserve to pay off their recent billings because M.S. won't let me go in and clear them out since he never did it... and the total he gave the people with whom we have the most complications with aren't paying enough to cover their entire JIB's... and its' just been HELL! And not only that, but I've been playing a damn waiting game for the entire month of April waiting for March's to get fixed by this man. And he said we'd resolve it on Friday and the fucker left work before we could clear out the month of March so I could start with April's entries.

Revenue checks are going out next week, and the JIB will go out on the Monday of the following week. Not possible!!!! I haven't even been allowed to clear April payments for these people and so their JIBs are going to say they owe more than they do. And not only that, but people at work are going to be pissed off at ME for not having my work done when it's not my fucking fault that M.S. takes off to play golf instead of doing what needs to get done.

Hence my frustration of the last week. I'll have three weeks worth of stuff to do next week, including my homework for school and whatever else I'm in charge of that will take place next week. And I'm setting myself up to be yelled at because of M.S.'s incompetance.

I went to my nephew's soccer game on Saturday with my family and then we went out to lunch. I casually asked the P. and V.P. of the company when JIB was going to be run. My dad said they would run the edit on Friday so that it can go out the next Monday. I then casually mentioned that M.S. hasn't allowed me to clear out the month of March yet so April's payments have yet to be entered. I also casually mentioned that it's a waste of my time to sit there waiting on one person and having my work pile up the way it does. So then my dad said, "well, can G. help you out there?" I said, "No. He doesn't even know what in the world is going on." Which is the God's honest truth. G., or FAG, as I refer to him, would just tell me to wait and ask M.S. because he doesn't want to tell me to do something that would make M.S. upset. Don't blame FAG there. I am in the same boat.

I was so frustrated with playing my waiting game at work that I went back to Brian and asked him for a promotion. He said, "There's other things you can do but I need you to keep doing the Accounts Receivable. You're good at it." Ha! How can somebody not be good at that? An idiot could do the job, in my opinion.

Oh, and top of that they have hired a new Accounts Payable and have moved the recently newly hired receptionist into the office next to mine. To do what? I haven't a freaking clue, but it means one thing. J.S. is going to be coming into my office, making a mess of my keyboad while she logs onto my computer to use the internet. They don't let her have the internet on her computer because she abused the privilege when she did have it. Last time she used my computer often for checking her e-mail, I had to clean crumbs off my desk, chair and keyboard... there's still a stain on the floor from where she spilled her pop... and I had a four week cold where I lost my voice that she passed onto me. I think that if people are going to borrow other people's things.. they should treat them more respectfully. It's not like I go into other people's offices and take over their space.

Anyhow, I'm done complaining. I feel a bit better, but I'm still feeling freakingly anxious about what's to happen this week work wise.

Random Fact About Jessica: I created a gay couple in my Sims 2 game who now own a barber shop... and I'm loving it.


 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!