Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:59 PM - Saturday, Jun. 10, 2006
Happy Belated Birthday, Linus!
First of all, I want to say congratulations to Claus and Anne! My adorable "nephew" was born June 8th (in Germany) weighing 9.6 lbs and measuring something like 21". They've named him Linus Gustav, and he is absolutely beautiful. I was so proud of the news that I cried a little. But hey... that's okay. I'm allowed to get emotionally sappy over the birth of this child. Now, to find him something "American" to wish him a welcome into this world.


Speaking of birthdays... my brother's boyfriend Tom's birthday was on the 6th this month. Imagine... having a birthday that fell on 666. Interesting, eh?

I woke up this morning with one goal. That was to go over to my sister's house and pick up her mail and newspaper while her family's out of town. When I get there, the newspaper wasn't on the driveway. It wasn't thrown away, either. Nor was it hiding somewhere on the front porch. I called them up on their cell phone and it turns out they didn't leave until this morning, taking the newspaper with them. You know, they could have called me and told me so, but did they? No.

Oh well! I needed to run by Walgreen's anyway. I finally bought a new battery for my cordless phone and a new battery for my advantax camera. I've been putting this off for awhile now because I kept forgetting what kind of battery my phone took. Luckily for me I had thrown away the old battery this morning. Unfortunately for me, by the time I got home to replace the battery, it said on the package to specifically recycle the battery because it contains nickel or something like that. And I can't go digging through my trash to find it because I threw away A LOT of stuff today.

I can see it now. The year is 3056 and some archeologists from the future are digging up our old trash. They'll probably come across my bag of trash containing the battery I just threw away. And since my old prescription bottle is inside that bag too, they'll know it was me who threw it away... and they will say something like, "So this is who caused the demise of the territory formally known as North America. If only she had recycled her battery, we wouldn't have to wear these special jumpsuits." But, to my defense, I actually think my cats litter is more lethal than any battery I should have recycled - and imagine just how many bags of dirty cat litter are thrown away on a daily basis. Let alone baby diapers. Eeeeeeeeew!

Speaking of my beloved little critters.... This morning they decided it was best to play tag with each other. When Comet ran off from Haley, she took a flying leap onto my long dresser smacking straight into my jewelry box. As she did so, she knocked my glass blue swan off the top of the box where it broke in two distinct places. It's not fixable.. and it was a present from my godmother. I scolded her, locked her out of my bedroom and went back to sleep. You would think I would have cried or something, but I didn't. In my mind, I thought... "it's just a material object. What's more valuable? A sentimental glass blue swan or cuddling up with your kitty?"

Of course I chose cuddling up with the kitty! I mean, come on. Life is too short - and when you're gone, you're gone. You don't get to carry any of those material objects into the next life with you, but you can at least die knowing that you valued other forms of life while you were alive. That's what's important. Not how many cars or televisions you buy, or how much money you save up in the bank for a rainy day. It's how well you treat others and yourself.

Isn't that the key to life? Or at least ONE key to life. Who am I to limit the key to life down to one idea?

I had an epiphany earlier today. As I was driving down Tyler Road, a thought struck me out of the blue. I was in the middle of trying to remember if I had bought everything I needed at Walgreens. I couldn't think of anything else I needed, and it struck me that I really didn't need nor want for anything. So then I suddenly posed this question to myself, "If you don't need nor want for anything, then what were you doing with 17 bags worth of clothes?" While I tried to answer that question with excuses, it came to me.

Recently, I have thought about buying a new computer. But why do I need a new computer when I have a fine one at home that works well, and a laptop on top of that? I came to this conclusion... I used to spend money on material objects to fulfill a need. But no matter how much money I spent on stuff, it never replaced that empty feeling. And now that I'm stowing my money away due to my old fear of becoming homeless, I've replaced the spending of my money with the hording of it. Either way, both are unhealthy.

What I need to do is pay attention to my star sign. The sign of Libra is the scales, and it is probably due to being born under Libra that I seek a perfect balance in my life. And in this case, it makes complete sense. One should find the perfect balance in their lives to enjoy the money that they have, but not to overdo it. I strongly believe that if I can find that balance, I can figure out what it is I am trying to either fill or replace. In due time, the answers will come to me. I have complete faith in that.

Random Thought by Jessica: Man, I have a lot of things to work on this year.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!