Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:58 PM - Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2006
Disorderly Conduct, Indeed
I just made it home from perhaps one of my most eventful days this month. Last month I had an appointment to visit the gynocologist. They had to reschedule me because some lady went into labor. Today, as I'm sitting butt naked on the table with only a towel around me, another woman went into labor. The possibility of it happening to me twice couldn't possibly be mere coincidence, could it? Anyhow, they had to reschedule me again, asking me to come back in the afternoon. I thought to myself, "now if it happens a third time, I'm going to know there's some cosmic force involved in all of this."

I made it into work and told everybody that I had to leave again at 1:15 in order to get back to the doctor's office on time for my rescheduled appointment. Just as I've logged off the computer and I'm about to grab my car keys, FAG comes walking in and tells me I have to do this one thing before they run the billing tonight. The time is 1:14.

Of course, I think it's a conspiracy. After all, he was sitting in FAD's office doing nothing until exactly 1:14. I had to relog onto my computer and get to work on accomplishing this task so I could get out of there for the day and make it to my appointment on time. Instead, I'm forced to listen to FAG explain in deep complex detail why I'm having to do what I'm doing even though I don't really give a shit. So by the time I've made it out of the office, I have exactly ten minutes to make it from the farthest tip of the east side to the farthest tip of the west side.

And, of course, I hit every red light imaginable. I also get stuck behind cars that drive five miles below the speed limit in BOTH lanes so I can't even go around them. By the time, I finally make it into the building, it's twenty minutes past my scheduled time. Eventually, I am led back to the table in order to restrip and do all that awesome stuff.... but still. I'm thankful they weren't completely pissed off at me for getting there twenty mintues late.

So, during my exam, I'm talking to the doctor and he's asking me all sorts of personal questions. Mostly because I haven't had my period in over three months, and he's trying to rule out all the possibilities. I told him that I thought it was because of my thyroid medication, but he said it wasn't. Although, he did say he thought it was hormonal. After quizzing me about my currently non-existent sex life and making sure that I was, in fact, not pregnant, he asked me if I'd be willing to take a blood test. I told I would be more than happy too. After all, I've already been poked and prodded on Monday.. so why not again today?

Basically, he thinks that I possibly have something called PCOS. Or maybe that's PSOC? I'm not sure. All I know is that it's a disorder that affects a woman's hormones causing them to have various symptoms. Three of which I know I suffer from and have always suffered from. It aso causes them to be infertile (not sterile, but unable to have children as easily). After he described the symptoms to me, the majority of them fit.

Now I'm just waiting on the results to see if I do suffer from the disorder. If I do have it, I'm going to have to take the same type of pill my mother is on for her type 2 diabeties. And if I do have it, it's fortunate they've caught it early enough because had they not, I would be seven times more likely to end up with diabeties than the average woman. Fortunately for me, my blood pressure is beautiful and so is my cholesterol levels.

After I was done with all of that, I received a phone call from my "doctor" doctor, and I guess my thyroid levels have skyrocketed also. He wants me to start taking two armour thyroid pills a day instead of one. Perhaps this explains why, when I suddenly dropped fifteen pounds in one weekend, I gained it right back (when normally if I gain any weight back its usually five pounds or less).

Time will tell, but hopefully everything gets worked out okay. I'm so tired of having to get my blood drawn all the time and visiting the doctor's office and the labs, too. I'd hate to say it, but I hope I have this disorder because I think it'll solve a lot of my issues - and they can easily be fixed, too.

Random Quote:

It's odd that you can get so anesthetized by your own pain or your own problem that you don't quite fully share the hell of someone close to you. ~ Lady Bird Johnson

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!