Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:58 PM - Thursday, Sept. 21, 2006
Bloody hell!
I've stayed home from work today. I woke up about 9:00 AM feeling completely nauseous. I ran to the bathroom in case I needed to puke, but instead I found blood running down my leg and just pouring onto the bathroom floor.

I know. Completely disgusting, but it was literally pouring out of me onto the bathroom floor. It seemed to take forever to get the shower water to turn hot, and as I waited for it to at least reach a warm temperature, I had to find some missing strength inside of me to hold myself up. My legs were shaking. My knees were weak. I felt dizzy in the head. So by the time I finally made it into the shower, I just sank to the shower floor and let the water pound me hard.

I think I was in the shower for a good hour. By the time I climbed out of there my skin was reddish-pink, but at least I wasn't feeling like I was going to faint anymore. It took me a minute or two to get situated outside of the shower, though.. and I had to go about cleaning up the blood off the bathroom floor. Thank god it didn't pour out onto the carpet or stain my bed sheets and mattress.

That's two times now that my period has been severely painful for me, but all I can be thankful for is that it came. I really don't want to end up with cancer someday from the lack of menstrual flow. I was talking to my sister today and she said that's how labor (or was it labor pains?) feels... like the worst menstrual cramps in the world. I was like, "And you feel this nauseous?" She was like, "You're feeling nauseous because the pain is severe." Like I said, I've never had cramps this painful before in my life. How would I know?

Anyhow, on to other news. Last night was eventful. My sister phoned me up about 7:30 to go pick up her children at the neighbors house. It turns out that Joe was throwing rocks, and one of the rocks he threw landed or hit Allie hard enough that blood was gushing out of her finger. Angie had Megan go get a neighbor who is a nurse (Angie can't handle blood at all), and the nurse came and examined it. She told Angie to take her to an emergency center because it looked like there was a blister under the nail that they would have to pop.

So... Angie took Allie to this nearby emergency center and they looked at it and told her she would have to go to Wesley Hospital because Allie might need stitches. So, here's my sister who can't handle blood with blood all over her shirt and blood all over Allie rushing to a hospital on the other side of town. Brian was helping out at the church doing something so she had to phone him up to meet her there.

Well, I picked up Joe and Megan who were freaking out on the neighbors and took them to Sonic for some slushies. Then we drove back to their house and watched Cartoon Network. I had to answer questions like crazy. "Is Allie going to die"? No. She just needs to have her finger looked at. "When are they coming home?" Tonight, as soon as the doctor is done looking at Allie's finger. "Is Allie going to be in the hospital overnight?" No. Emergency rooms just take forever because they have less doctors working at night, and they work on the most severe problems first. And on and on the questions went. I finally convinced them that these things happen to little kids and that Allie will be home with their mom and dad that night. I also told them that if they went to bed (It was after their bed time), by the time they woke up, their mom and dad and Allie would be home.

I guess Joe was freaking out the most but the minute he saw me drive up to pick them up at the neighbors house, he was fine. For some reason, that made me feel really good inside. I don't know why. I guess it's because I'm familiar enough to them that they feel secure and comfortable with me. I like that.

Anyhow, by the time they got home it was 10:30 at night, and Allie's finger was bandaged up so I couldn't look at it. Basically, all they had to do was make sure it wasn't broken and remove the fingernail. There was puss under the nail that they needed to clean up, and it was just a task in and of itself removing that nail from an almost 2 year old's hand.

I told Angie today that it was a good thing it was just the nail because fingernails grow back. My mom had been freaking out last night that Allie was going to lose her finger, but the rock hit her nail just right that it only did damage to the fingernail. Thank God for small miracles, eh?

I think I'm the only one who didn't freak out. I don't know what it is, but even when a kid gets hurt and needs a band-aid or something, I don't get freaked out. I just calm them down by telling them what to do, tell them that the water I'm using to clean their wound up is going to sting but it has to be done, and then I put the band-aid on them and they're good to go. Oh well. I think my sister did a good job. Who knows how I would have reacted if it had been my own kids?

Well, that was my eventful night and morning. Gross things sure do happen a lot, even to good people like me. Ha!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!