Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:10 PM - Sunday, Oct. 29, 2006
Turn from the not of distraction.
I'm trying to turn over a new leaf in my life. Last week was the first week of this process. I forced myself to get to work no later than 9 AM, except of course on Tuesday or Wednesday... maybe it was even Thursday? I don't remember. That was the morning I was given a call by my doctor to come in and get some more blood tests done. That wasn't my fault. However, I did get to work by 9:30 that day.

Now that I'm arriving at work earlier, the office has given me more responsibility. In some small way, I'm becoming my dad's personal secretary. That's fine with me. I enjoy doing things for him and working for him. It's also nice because it means that he approves of the work that I do. That is a compliment, in my opinion. It also makes the days go by so much faster. I love being overwhelmed with a lot to do because it makes me good inside as I tackle one job after the next and can mark them off my to do list. I have a feeling that if I keep working hard, keep getting to work early, and keep pushing myself to prove to them that I'm good enough and smart enough to do this work, they'll think about promoting me or at least giving me a raise.

I'm so glad the clocks have fallen back an hour. It gives me an extra hour of sleep in the morning. I'll need it. I've got class tomorrow night. Which reminds me, I really really really really need to start working on my paper. I suppose I could start doing the research now. It's just that it has to be focused on two sociological theories and I'm not exactly sure what is expected. The professor has gone over what he wants, but I'm not sure if it's supposed to be written like an actual paper or if it's supposed to be written up like a research topic paper. I suppose I should do some research on that. Either way, I need to start working on that right away. That means no late night phone calls for a bit because it's very important I get an A in this class.

I'm starting to feel a slight burn-out school wise. And the topic at hand is pretty depressing. It's not fun to learn about the statistics of society and how we're pretty much up shit creek unless we obtain a level of education higher than a BA or BS. It just feels like I'm doing all of this work right now for nothing and that the end doesn't look anywhere in sight. I do know that with a Sociology degree, I will come out with the ability to do intense research and data analysis. I don't know how important that is to the job I have now or what job I may take on in the future, but the answers to that will just have to come to me in time. And I'm just going to have to find a way to live with that instead of feeling so blah that I can't figure things out for myself right now.

Anyhow, I would love to keep on writing but I've got such a long day ahead of me tomorrow. I'm going to go to sleep and hope that I have enough energy to be gone from the home for over 12 hours.

We shall see....

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!