Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:31 PM - Sunday, Dec. 24, 2006
Merry Christmas!
As you've noticed, I've unlocked my diary. I only locked it to make one person happy, but you know what? I like everybody being able to read what I have to say if they're so inclined as to check out my diary. Sure, the drama seeking people of the chatroom I go to are all on my permanent ignore list - and if I'm not on theirs and they feel this desperate need to constantly keep tabs on my life, so be it. You would think that if they hate me so much, they wouldn't even take the time to check this site out; but since they're obsessed, I'll continue to let them be obsessed. It's their waste of time. Not mine. I'm just extremely amused by the fact that they actually care enough to read about me.

With that said... Merry Christmas everybody! It's finally Christmas Eve. My family celebrated Christmas yesterday since all my siblings are off to their in-laws or future in-laws for the holiday. Then there's me. My mother was like, "So, what are you going to be doing on Christmas? You don't want to spend it all alone, do you?" I told her, "I'm going to sleep in and enjoy the day off work. And as far as I'm concerned, today was Christmas."

I swear. They need to quit assuming that just because I'm single it doesn't mean I'm lonely or losing out on something. Single is what I am right now and what I choose to be. Do I plan to be alone the rest of my life? No. It's just that... right now... I have so many things I want to accomplish and feel this need to accomplish before I bring some other person into the picture. If it happens, I won't be closed off to it... but I'm not looking for it either. And they just need to accept that.

So what has 2006 done for me? Let's see... Actually, quite a bit.

1. I've grown as a person emotionally, and while I still have a long way to go on becoming more assertive and less submissive, I think I've come a long way.

2. I've taken on more responsibility at work and quit letting the old peons treat me like I don't know anything.

3. I've increased my former gradepoint average to above a 3.0 so that I can now officially enter into the Masters program this spring. As my mother put it, "You've grown up." Ha.. I'm still not regretting enjoying my first time through college. I loved the partying.

4. I found out a bit about my body and why my weight keeps fluxuating up and down. And hopefully these bio-identical hormones do the trick because I'm so sick of all the ups and downs I've experienced emotionally and physically due to my hormones being out of whack. At least now I know it wasn't completely my fault. It was my genetic history. Ha ha ha!

5. I did something I thought I'd never do. I actually planned a trip that didn't involve some member of my family - and I took it. I had more fun, too, which is one of the reasons I want to keep the trip to myself. I'm afraid that if I shared it, the magic of the moment wouldn't be the same anymore. I've written about it in my hand-written diary so that I can remember the trip years from now. So, to all of you curious people out there... I had a blast, and I hope to do it again someday.

And, well, that's probably really the only significant things to take place over the year. Not much, but they have been life changing events for me. I wonder what 2007 has in store for me. I all ready know it's going to be a lot of work and I'll be extremely busy because I'll be working a full time job and going to school full time for the Masters program. That's okay. It's well worth it. A Masters degree will open up many doors for me that an undergrad degree can't.. and as I keep reminding people.. if you stick with an undergrad degree, statistically you're setting yourself up to be losing income yet working more hours. And all because there are more college graduates today than college level jobs... so if you want to stick with an undergrad degree, go into nursing.

Okay. Enough preaching. The movie I've been waiting on to start is coming on in one minute.

Random Fact About Jessica: I just spent $200 at Borders. I think I need to avoid the bookstore for awhile... especially since I've run out of shelf space to put all my books.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!