Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:06 PM - Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004
The measure of a man....
A ogni nuvola nel mio cielo con un argento "lining" Davy,

If I only knew how to say the right things, I would whisper them softly into your ear. I wish I could grab you into the tightest and warmest hug possible right now. You know I think the world of you, and that I love you unconditionally. You are a wonderful man with an intelligent mind, a deep loving heart, and a warm caring spirit. I did not know your father; not in any true sense of the word. I did know him through you, though. Whether we see it or not, our parents are reflected in each of us. And had I known your father in person, I'm sure I would be able to look you in the eye, take your hands into mine, and say, "Davy, you have his smile. Davy, you share his laugh. Davy, he's inside of you. I can see his personality shining through various areas of your own."

I once told you that I dreamt about my grandparents after they had passed on. They came to me to say good-bye. They said, "Do not worry about us. We are fine. We are happy. But you need to take care of yourself and your family, especially your father. He needs you right now." And while I know they are gone from this earth in the physical sense, I know deep down they are always with me. Your father is the same. He may no longer be with us here on earth, but he is always with you. I know this, Davy. I know because I can feel it, and I hope that you can feel it, too. I want you to know that he is in a better place, that he is fine, and that he is happy. And although it's difficult to go through the emotions of losing someone we love so dearly, he is never truly gone completely. He is always at your side. We may not be able to hear his voice, hold him inside of our arms, or do something ordinarily earthly with him; but you can always tell him that you love him and that you miss him. He can hear you - and whether or not you believe the proof when he responds, he will answer back.

I can see him now, urging you boys to be strong for your mother. But I can also see him being kind enough to tell you to let your guard down and not be afraid to cry, do not be afraid to show emotion in front of anyone when remembering him, but most of all... do not be afraid to open up to each other and be there for one another during this time. I can't explain why I feel him saying these things to you when I don't even know the man, but that is what I feel deep down inside of me. These words don't even feel like my own, Davy. But, I feel as if I must tell them to you. I hope you understand.

There is a poem that I love, and I wanted to share it with you. I have a feeling that you know it, too. It is the Hopi Prayer. It goes like this:

Do not stand at my grave and weep.
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glints on snow.
I am the sunlight on the ripened grain.
I am the gentle Autumn's rain.
When you awaken in the morning hush,
I am the swift uplifting rush
of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry;
I am not there, I did not die.

Suo famiglia � nelle mie preghiere. Sono qui per lui (you) sempre. Io ti amo, Bellisimo..

your froggy always,

Angelina Mia

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!