Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:50 PM - Saturday, Dec. 17, 2005
She's beautiful as usual....
I am so happy Davy's taken to writing in his journal again. I've missed reading his journal like you wouldn't believe. I tried to call him the other day but nobody answered his phone. I figured that they were on the other line because I didn't get an answering machine either. Well, the other day was actually on his birthday or something, but you catch my drift, eh?

Anyhow, I went to see my 6 year old niece perform ballet last night. It was SO cute. I took my grandparents with me, and my grandma was like, "She's the only one that knows how to dance." I don't know if she was being biased or if that's the truth because throughout the entire dance my eyes remained on Megan. I felt so proud of her. They did some routine to Rocking around the Christmas Tree, and they wore these cute little pink outfits and santa hats.

I asked little Joe if he was going to dance ballet and he said, "Eeew. No. Ballet is for girls! I'm a boy, duh." I said, "Little boys dance ballet, too." And he said, "No, they don't. It's for GIRLS!" I turned to Joe and said, "Boys dance ballet, too. In fact, the boys who dance in ballet are very strong. They have to be strong because they lift the girls up off the ground." The conversation made me think of my gender class and how children are raised to see their own gender in different ways. Ironically, there wasn't a single boy in any of the dances.

I'm desperate to go shopping and buy myself some books to read. I've run out of reading material. I'm just not in a hurry to go out and join the masses of Christmas shoppers. I'd blame it on the traffic, but I live less than a mile from New Market Square so it wouldn't be that big of a problem to hit the road and find myself at Borders for a couple of hours. It's the crowds that bother me, the in flux of people inside the stores who push and shove and get extremely impatient, especially when they're waiting in line to pay. I do most of my shopping on the internet because of this. I don't know how my mom does it. She's been out there shopping like a mad woman for the last few weeks. Then again, she tends to go while everybody else is at work. Must be nice.

I better get going. I could be vacuuming or something. You should see the inside of my closet. It's a complete and total mess. I have way too many clothes. In my next house, I'm going to need a walk-in closet that's three times as big as the one I have now. And to think that my neighbors share this space with their spouses? Maybe elderly people don't own as many clothes? I don't know, but sooner or later I'm going to have to be stingy and quit buying clothes AND go through the clothes I have and give some to the DAV. This is insanity people... insanity.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!