Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:36 PM - Sunday, Oct. 08, 2006
Screw Hollywood. Pass me the dessert.
I posted this in my My Space blog, too...

What the hell is going on here? The other day I went shopping for a pair of jeans, and even though I haven't gained any weight (or lost any for that matter), my jean size has been notched up a size. I even tried on different styles and different designers to no avail. My conclusion? Clothes are being made smaller.

Why? Marilyn Monroe was a size 12 - a size I read somewhere was the average size of the American woman. Who knows? Maybe today the average size is 14. I don't know, and I'm not about to go look up statistics on this, either. All I know is that it's crazy and disgusting what is happening to the image of women. I am completely enraged about the fact that models used to galivant down the aisles at a size 6 but now they're pushing a size 2.

What's so attractive about that? Do men really want to be with a woman who looks like she's going to break if they lay on top of her? Do they really want to be with a woman who looks like she's in the first stages of becoming a concentration camp victim? I just don't get it. I look at them and I think to myself, "now that's damn disgusting. Who wants to look at somebody's ribcage?" On top of that, their heads are beginning to look bigger than their bodies so that they look all out of proportion. So, not only are they becoming funny looking, but they look pathetically sad.

No wonder teenager girls and young adults are becoming anorexic and bulimic. Their role models, the clothes they want to wear, and the ideal "sexy" image these days look like little boys playing dress-up in women's clothing.

Why are these the woman that our youth look up too? What in the hell is wrong with us and why are we accepting this? Am I to look forward to a future of walking skeletons and seeing nothing but oversized heads on undersized bodies in the movies and on the television?

Oh, fancy that. I just can't wait! At least it's almost time for Halloween. They don't even have to buy a costume. They'll fit right in.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!