Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:42 AM - Friday, Nov. 17, 2006
patient may experience euphoria
They still haven't caught the mouse. I found out from Fank the cleaning guy that he and his son tried to trap it in the supply closet but they forgot to block underneath the door forgetting that mice could fit down under doors... and it escaped out the door and went towards FAD's office. It's probably now living off the food she hides underneath her desk. If I hear a scream of terror anytime soon, I'll know she found it when digging into her pretzel bag. Oh, how funny that would be!

I had a Drs appointment yesterday to go over the latest blood tests that were taken. My estrogen and progesterone levels are still extremely low even after taking the Norethendrome medication. Therefore, my doctor doctor (not my gyno) has put me on my very one lab created estrogen and progesterone pills that I must take during days 5-28 of my cycle twice a day... dissolving the little pills between my gum and cheek for about 25 to 45 minutes a day. They're geared towards my body and are bio-identical so they mimmick my body. Interesting, eh?

I was going through the symptoms of low progesterone and low estrogen and found the symptoms to be so me. Low progesterone causes a low sex drive, anxiety, swollen/painful breasts, fuzzy thinking, water retention, PMS symptoms, moodiness, depression, irritability, and irregular periods. Low estrogen levels cause hot flashes and night sweats, memory lapses, heart palpitations, back and joint pain, sleep disturbances, vaginal dryness, depression, mood swings, headaches, urinary tract infections, dry hair/hair loss, and fatigue.

So many symptoms just because of two hormones! And I have over half of them on each. My doctor and I were talking about it but once these bio-identical hormones kick in I can start to go off my prozac because the whole reason I was probably on it in the first place was because my hormones were out of wack. And I was talking to this one lady at work who has had some problems too, and she said her family and friends have accused her of having ADD. And I was like, 'Oh my god. Some of my friends make fun of me for having ADD.' And so now I wonder if my "all over the place" characteristics are because of this too. It's all connected.

Anyhow, once I'm on these things.. they're supposed to do these functions. Progesterone will act as a diaretic, reduce anxiety, decrease PMS and menstrual flow, regulate my blood sugar and thyroid function, reduce breast tenderness, contribute to increased bone mass and density, and protect the breasts, uterus and ovaries from cancer. Estrogen will promote the growth of certain cells in the body, help develop most secondary sexual characteristics of the female, slow bone loss, and vasodilation - whatever that is.

I'll let you all know how it goes once I start taking them. I'm still shocked that I'm only 29 and I already need to be given bio-identical hormone replacements. After all, they are mainly given to women experiencing menopause or have had a hysterectomy. I guess I fall under the category of ovarian failure. But, like the lady at work said.. at least I'm being proactive about finding a solution instead of sitting around and allowing my body to not function properly.

Now, it's time for bed. Until later my friends...

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!