Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:07 AM - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004
9 for our loss gods....
To my friends who have my e-mail address.. I need your address. So please e-mail me with that information so I can add you to the cool little nifty address book I bought for a $1 at Target. THANK YOU! That means YOU. All of YOU. Yes... every single one of you!

Last night my sister Jenny and I went to see the movie Alfie. It wasn't at all what I expected. It was worth watching, but I was very disappointed with the ending. Either it was worded wrong so the affect the writer wanted to convey didn't impact the audience as well as it should have, or maybe I placed too high of expectations to see the ending go a different direction. I shall never know. I did have a mishap at the box office, though. The man behind the counter jipped me three dollars. When my sister and I confronted him about it, the manager came out and took his drawer to count his money. His drawer came out even. I'm like, "how in the world can it come out even when it's plainly obvious that my change from a $20 is wrong." The ticket was $5.50. The man gave me back $11.50. I gave him a $20. I should have received $14.50 and back. He even said he gave me back $11.50. He obviously made a mistake somewhere else. On the bright side, they gave me a free movie pass which is worth a lot more than $3.00. It doesn't have an expiration date so I'm not complaining.

The phones are driving me insane today. Thank God I'm going to take off next Tuesday or I'll end up in an insane asylum before Thanksgiving. I just realized something. My brother is coming to Kansas on the 15th, and my sister needs me the 16th (that Tuesday I'm taking off)... so maybe I'll utilize my paid vacation days then and just use the rest of them up. I don't know. I need Scott to call me back and let me know when he and Tom are going to be here.

My ear is killing me again. I wonder if answering the phones on a consistent basis can cause massive ear infections. Or maybe I'm just prone to have an infected ear for the rest of my life. It really frustrates me though. I mean, here I am answering the god damn phone for people who get mad at me when I can't A. Understand, B. HEAR, or C. remember to ask the person on the other line who in the hell they are when I'm more worried about making sure I answer the other five lines before the people hang up. I never went to receptionist school. I've never had a job where I had to answer the phone before, let alone answer six phone calls at once. This place never trained me on anything I do for them. They just handed me the crap and said, "get this done." I have a college degree with emphasis in English and Sociology for crying outloud. The only thing I'm trained to do is study literature and people, write, and think deeply on matters and issues that don't really have any importance in the overall scheme of things. And yet, they basically scream at me for not doing my job correctly.

Well, how am I supposed to do things YOUR way if you don't train me to do them YOUR way? Answer me that. If you have such a problem with how I do things MY way then fucking fire me! It's most likely the only way I'm going to get out of this hell hole, anyway. I walk through the door and they glare at me as if I have cooties. I don't get to the phone in time to answer it and the other person in charge of answering the lines I can't get too treats me like I'm dog shit the rest of the week. I'm sick and tired of being treated like a peon, an unintelligent good for nothing piece of shit.

Damn it. I must be getting ready to PMS.

I don't know what I did to my finger but it's killing me. Maybe I'll chew it off.

My grandma called my sister last week and said my grandpa's memory is getting worse. She wanted to know if there was better memory loss drugs on the market for him. I guess she's reaching the point where she doesn't know what to do anymore. Does he have Alzheimer's? Or is this just a problem brought on from the multiple mini-strokes he experienced when he had open heart surgery? I'm shocked she's been able to handle him this long. I love my grandpa, but there are times when I get frustrated when he can't remember my name or he repeats a question or two a million times. I know it bothers him and frustrates him, too. I've seen the tears in his eyes when he talks about how scary and frustrating it is for him. I sometimes think that taking care of him is one of the reasons Grandma's blood pressure is so high. She's such a patient woman. I've never seen her fly off the handle. Maybe she needs to get upset and just scream her head off. It might do her a world of good.

I try to to go over there as often as possible to give her a break from taking care of him, or to help them out in some way. I also try to give my Grandma someone to speak too who will remember what she said five minutes ago. It's really a sad situation. Sometimes I think I'm detached from it all, and other times I think that maybe I'm just good at detaching myself from emotional situations until I can't hold them in any longer and I have to wake up and face the music.

So anyhow... I think I'm going to buy a "learn a new word a day calendar." Alfie had one, and it just seems like a good idea. I feel like I don't know enough words and their meanings, so why not learn a new word a day? I mean, who in the world knew that crinet meant something about a very fine feather? I've never even heard of the word crinet before. I don't think... Gosh darn. Amazon is taking ten millions years to load today. I think I'll just put this on my Christmas wish list. There we go. It's even #1 on the list. But like the list will matter. I mean, I gave my mom a list for my birthday and the only thing I got on the list was a trip to the mall for some clothes. But then, I heard through the family grapevine she bought me PacMan for Christmas... only problem is, I wanted Ms. PacMan. Argh!! And you really can't expect them to buy me lipsuction when they seem to think I'm perfect the way I am.

Oh yeah... I forgot. I need to add the Lord of the Rings, Return of the King special DVD edition to the list! Man, Amazon may be taking a billion years to load but it's front page is reminding me of things I absolutely NEED in this life.

Oooh, Eddie Bauer has some new clothes on the line. I may just have to ask for some of those sweaters for Christmas! I'm going to have to go through my clothing line and see if I even have room to store these clothes. Hmmm.... let's not get me too excited here. I think I better slow down. Thanksgiving hasn't even hit yet.

Okay. I think I'll just end this entry here. I'm absolutely not talking about anything worth reading anyhow. Until tomorrow...


 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!